Golf has been played competitively for centuries; according to The Guinness Book of Golf Facts and Feats the first international match was held in 1682 when the Duke of York and a shoemaker defeated two English noblemen at Leith. However, more than 170 years would pass before eight professional golfers assembled at Prestwick Golf Club in 1860 to determine who would become the Champion Golfer.

Prior to his death in 1859, Allan Robertson was the de facto champion golfer, but when Willie Park Senior beat Old Tom Morris by two shots to claim the Challenge Belt, little did those early golfers know how championship golf would change over the next hundred years.

The birth of The Open championship paved the way for the first club match between Oxford and Cambridge in 1875. Ten years later, the first Amateur championship was staged at Royal Liverpool Golf Club in 1885. In 1892 the first Indian and South African Amateur championships were played, then in 1893 the Ladies' Championship (now the Womens Amateur) and the New Zealand Amateur were both inaugurated.

The Open - golf's oldest championship

The Open - golf's oldest championship

In 1895 the first U.S. Open and U.S. Amateur championships were played at Newport Country Club, Rhode Island. The same year the Canadian, Argentinean and U.S Women's Amateur championships started.

In 1902 the first amateur international match was staged between England and Scotland (now the Women’s Home Internationals). In 1903 the Oxford and Cambridge Golfing Society sailed to America to undertake the first overseas golf tour.

The Australian Open and Canadian Open started in 1904, as did the French Amateur championship, two years later the first French Open was staged.

Many dozens of championships – amateur and professional, male and female – are played each year in numerous countries. Our ultimate aim is to showcase as many championships as possible.

Scroll down the page or Select a Championship for more details...

Top 100 Golf Courses - Championships

Australian Open 18 Courses

The early winners of the Australian Open didn’t receive a trophy but that was remedied in 1930 when the Stonehaven Cup was presented to Frank Eyre from New South Wales when he won the event at Metropolitan in Melbourne by seven strokes.


Canadian Open 32 Courses

The Canadian Open was first played in 1904, nine years after the Canadian Amateur Championship had been established. It’s one of the oldest running golf tournaments on the professional circuit in North America.


Curtis Cup 37 Courses

The Curtis Cup – or to give the competition its proper title, “The Women’s International Cup” – is a biennial match-play contest between two teams of female amateur golfers from the United States of America and Great Britain & Ireland.


Eisenhower Trophy 43 Courses

Organized by the International Golf Federation (known as the World Amateur Golf Council up until 2003), the Eisenhower Trophy is the World Amateur Team Championship which is played every two years at various locations around the world.


Espirito Santo Trophy 35 Courses

The Espirito Santo Trophy is the world amateur team golf championship for women, organized by the International Golf Federation (originally called the World Amateur Golf Council) and it’s the female equivalent of the men’s Eisenhower Trophy...


Open de France 16 Courses

The Open de France was instituted in 1906, making it the oldest national championship in continental Europe. It’s been played as a 72-hole competition annually since then, apart from 1915 to 1919 due to World War I and from 1940 to 1945 during World War II.


PGA Championship 66 Courses

The PGA Championship is one of the four major championships in golf and it’s the only one these four competitions which does not explicitly invite amateurs to participate. Organized by the PGA of America, this annual event is limited to 156 players.


Presidents Cup 9 Courses

Organized by the PGA Tour, the Presidents Cup is a biennial end of season match play competition played between a 12-man team of professional players from the United States of America and an International Team representing the Rest of the World (apart from Europe).


Ryder Cup 37 Courses

​The Ryder Cup is a biennial match play tournament played between two teams of professional players representing Europe and the United States of America, with the venue alternating between courses in the US and Europe.


Solheim Cup 17 Courses

The Solheim Cup is a biennial match play tournament for women professional players representing Europe and the United States of America, with the venue alternating between courses on either side of the Atlantic.