Texas Open

The Texas Open – or the Valero Texas Open as it was renamed in 2002 when the San Antonio-based Valero Energy Corporation was made title sponsor – is one of the longest running championships on the men’s professional circuit in America, dating as far back as 1922, and it’s well regarded as one of the cornerstone events on the PGA Tour.

Texas Open Championship Trophy - Photo credit: Valero Texas Open

Organized by the Valero Energy Foundation and managed by the Wasserman Media Group, the Texas Open is the third oldest 72-hole stroke play competition on the PGA Tour and the longest staged in the same city, having always been held in and around the San Antonio area. The tournament is also one of the biggest fundraising events on the tour, with more than $100 million donated to charity down the years.

The course at Brackenridge Park hosted most of the Texas Opens until 1959 and it was here that Bob McDonald from Dornoch won the inaugural competition in 1922. McDonald had emigrated to the United States with his family in 1910, taking up a post in New Jersey before later moving to Ohio. He had three top 10 finishes in the US Open between 1915 and 1920 and reached the PGA semi-final in 1919 before winning his first professional event at the Metropolitan Open in 1921, ending Walter Hagen’s streak of three successive titles.

Walter Hagen added the Texas Open to four other competitions he won in the 1923 season, before non-American golfers then carried off the silverware in three of the next four seasons: Australian Joe Kirkwood Sr. had a 7-stroke victory in 1924; Scotsman Macdonald Smith held off fellow countryman Bobby Cruikshank by a single stroke in 1926; then Cruikshank bounced back a year later to deny Larry Nabholtz by three shots.


Texas Open host courses

Brackenridge Park

66th Texas - Best in Area

The oldest public 18-hole layout in Texas, Brackenridge Park Golf Course in San Antonio has hosted twenty-one editions of the Texas Open from 1922 to 1959. None other than A. W. Tillinghast designed “Old Brack” in 1916.


Average Reviewers Score:

La Cantera (Resort)

86th Texas - Best in Area

The Resort course at the 36-hole La Cantera Golf Club hosted fifteen editions of the Texas Open, starting the year that the Tom Weiskopf and Jay Morrish layout first opened for play in 1995.


Average Reviewers Score:

Oak Hills

19th Texas - Best in Area

The Oak Hills Country Club course in San Antonio hosted the Texas Open 19 times between 1961 and 1994. Its tight, tree-lined fairways were fashioned by A.W. Tillinghast in 1922...


Average Reviewers Score:

TPC San Antonio (Oaks)

33rd Texas - Best in Area

The Oaks course at TPC San Antonio is the Greg Norman-designed sibling of the shorter Canyons course, a Pete Dye offering that also opened in 2010.


Average Reviewers Score:

Texas Open Leaderboard

Rank Name Courses Played
1 Dwight Chumbley Courses Played 4
= Steve Starika Courses Played 4
= Winn Bartlett Courses Played 4
4 Mark Kazlowski Courses Played 3
= David Harak Courses Played 3
= Logan Chapman Courses Played 3
= Nick Roberts Courses Played 3
= Dakin Christenson Courses Played 3
= Sam Wallach Courses Played 3
= Nicholas Blake Courses Played 3