Described by Bernard Darwin in May 1913 as "sandy and heathery, long and difficult, costing enormous sums of money and laid out with the most consummate ingenuity," Camberley Heath Golf Club is a Harry Colt gem that’s set in 135 acres of glorious heathland, flanked by towering pines. Camberley Heath is listed in the catalogue of Simpson & Company Golf Architects, but we don't know what work Tom Simpson may have carried out.
Opened by Prince Albert of Schleswig Holstein, Camberley Heath’s Royal connections have continued down the years. For instance, a match was arranged in 1929 between “The Admirals” and “The Generals” to mark the club’s involvement with the Staff College and Royal Military Academy in Sandhurst. Both the Prince of Wales – later to become King Edward VIII – and the Duke of York participated in the game.
Measuring 6,426 yards with par set at 71, the course boasts a fine set of par three holes that vary in length from 162 to 235 yards but its main attribute has to be the quartet of delightful short par fours found on holes 4, 6, 15 and 16 (which also contains a water hazard). The terrain is undulating in places – especially over the closing three holes – so first time visitors should not expect a casual heathland stroll but a rather demanding golfing challenge that requires accurate and thoughtful shot-making when playing here.
An on going program of heathland and forestry conservation is in place around the course, and this, along with an irrigation system served by an on-site bore hole, keeps the sandy free-draining fairways in pristine condition all year round. A multi-year bunker renovation programme commenced in 2015 under the architectural stewardship of Frank Pont. Bunker specialist, George Waters, was enlisted, whose previous projects include Pinehurst No.2 and Pasatiempo.
December 01, 2010