Formed in 1939, Carrick-on-Suir Golf Club established a 9-hole layout at Whitechurch which lasted only four years until the club relocated a short distance south to Garravoone, where another 9-hole course was set out with the help of Tramore groundsman Tommy Ryan. Eddie Hackett remodelled this layout in 1976 before additional land was purchased twenty years later, enabling the club to operate eighteen holes.
In Kevin Markham’s book Hooked: an amateur’s guide to the golf courses of Ireland the author writes: “there are three distinct sets of holes, all blending seamlessly, and this variety adds considerably to the golf experience. Holes 1 to 4 have the greatest change in elevation and have that heathland flair, the 5th to 10th in front of the clubhouse are the most open holes (and) holes 11 to 17 sit comfortably on a separate hillside.”
The course extends to 5,982 metres from the back tees, playing to a par of 73 (35 out and 38 in), with three par threes on the front nine and three par fives on the longer back nine. Highlight holes include the short par four 3rd (“Coronary Hill”), doglegging right to a benched green, and the tough par four 12th (“Three Counties”) which is rated stroke index 1. The only par three on the inward half, the 160-metre 16th, is also worth an honourable mention.