Golf was first played in Millicent in 1904 on a 9-hole course which “started opposite the old showgrounds in Mr. Skewe’s paddock, continued across a water course near Bellingers… over the road toward Woodgreen.”
Three years later, Millicent Golf Club was formed, with a course extending to 2,800 yards, on property belonging to Messrs. Gordon and Boase. The club only stayed there for one year before moving on to Mr. E.J. Harris’s estate.
In 1930, the club was playing out of another location called Mayura before switching to Millicent North in 1935, where the old stables were used as clubrooms. Twelve months later, the club had upped sticks yet again and was playing at the racecourse.
Finally, in 1961, the club relocated to its current home fifteen kilometres out of town in a heavily wooded 185-acre property at Mount Burr, where fairways were literally carved from the forest. It might be a little rough around the edges for some but Millicent’s definitely a “hidden gem” to be savoured.