Nagoya (Wago) - Chubu - Japan

Nagoya Golf Club,
35-1 AzaDondori OazaWago,
Aichi 470-0153,

  • +81 (0) 52 801 1111

  • Not known

  • Mitsuaki Otani, Sho Tobari

  • Not known

Nagoya Golf Club was established in 1929, with Mitsuaki Otani setting out the Wago course for the founding members with the double green system that’s still used in the modern era.

The club last hosted the Japan Open in 1989 when Masashi Ozaki won the 3rd of his five titles then architect Sho Tobari renovated the course a year before Yukari Baba won the Japan Women’s Open held here in 2011.

Wago’s layout is best known as the venue for The Crowns tournament on the Japan Golf Tour which has been played here since 1960, with previous winners including Justin Rose, Darren Clarke, Greg Norman and Seve Ballesteros. Ryo Ishikawa exploited the Wago’s modest 6,545 yardage in 2010 when his final round 58 secured the title by five shots.

Highlight holes include the par four 3rd (doglegging right, past water to the green), the par five 15th (rising steadily uphill and swinging left to the target), and the par three 17th, requiring an all-carry tee shot over water to the putting surface.

If the above article is inaccurate, please let us know by clicking here

Write a review

Reviews for Nagoya (Wago)

Average Reviewers Score: