Map of Leitrim


County Leitrim is one of five Connacht counties in the west of Ireland. It borders the UK with county Fermanagh and has shared boundaries with five other counties in the Republic of Ireland. It also has the shortest length of coastline – less than 3 miles – of any Irish county that comes into contact with the sea.

Leitrim takes its title from the village of the same name located close to the River Shannon. Once a stronghold of the O’Rourke clan in times gone by, the village of Leitrim was an important settlement because the river could easily be crossed at a narrow, shallow part of its course.

For a county that has the smallest population (just over 25,000) of any in Ireland, it’s perhaps not surprising to learn there’s only one golf course in the entire region at Ballinamore. Founded in 1934, Ballinamore Golf Club had its 9-hole course redesigned by Dr Arthur Spring and this revised layout officially opened for play in 2004.

Top 100 Golf Courses - Leitrim

Leitrim Leaderboard

Rank Name Courses Played