Quail Hollow Club - North Carolina - USA

Quail Hollow Club,
3700 Glen Eagles Rd,
North Carolina (NC) 28210,

  • +1 704 552 1727

  • Monte Smith

  • George Cobb

  • Scott Davenport

The Quail Hollow Club began following a meeting at Morrocroft Farm in 1959 and in 1961 their course, designed by George W Cobb, opened for play.

Arnold Palmer redesigned the layout in 1986 before Tom Fazio then became the club’s architect of choice, making further alterations in 1997 and 2003. Fazio returned in 2013 to supervise the conversion of all the greens to Miniverde Bermuda before coming back three years later to replace the putting surfaces with Champion Bermuda. Four holes were also significantly altered to strengthen the course’s championship credentials.

The opening hole now combines the old 1st and par three 2nd, doglegging right and playing 130 yards longer. The 4th is a new 184-yard short hole, built on what was formerly part of the old par five 5th hole. The slightly right doglegged par four 5th is a shortened version of the old 5th hole and the upgraded version of the par four 11th has been extended by 36 yards to play to a new raised green which is defended by two bunkers on the left.

Located in Charlotte, North Carolina, the Quail Hollow Club burst into the limelight in 2003 as the host venue of the Wachovia Championship (later renamed The Quail Hollow Championship and now called the Wells Fargo Championship), which has become an important event on the PGA Tour. The Championship serves as a key fundraiser, supporting youth education and has raised many millions of dollars for charity since 2003.

Measuring a healthy 7,442 yards from the tips, Quail Hollow is a true championship layout and many Quail Hollow Championship spectators have enjoyed the one-shot 17th which has become the course’s signature hole, requiring a forced water carry of some 200 yards to a back-to-front and right-to-left sloping island-like green.

The Quail Hollow Championship has seen some big name winners, including Vijay Singh in 2005, Jim Furyk in 2006 and Tiger Woods in 2007. In the 2010 event, Northern Irishman Rory McIlroy shot a course record 62 in the final round to win the Quail Hollow Championship. This was McIlroy’s first PGA title and he also became the youngest winner on the Tour (two days prior to his 21st birthday) since Tiger Woods in 1996. What a lovely coming of age present for the young Irishman!

The club hosted the PGA Championship in August 2017, when Justin Thomas won the Wannamaker trophy claiming his first major title.

Four holes to watch at Quail Hollow Club - 2017 PGA Championship

Behind the architectural curtain - 2017 PGA Championship

If the above article is inaccurate, please let us know by clicking here

Reviews for Quail Hollow Club

We have no user reviews for this course yet, submit yours and be the first!