Byron Nelson

One of only two events on the PGA Tour named after a professional golfer (the other is the Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill in Florida), the A&T Byron Nelson tournament has been a linchpin of the professional men’s circuit for more than half a century now. Hosted by the Salesmanship Club of Dallas, a 600-member civic organization, the competition is one of the major charity fundraisers on the golfing calendar in the United States.

Byron Nelson Championship Trophy

The inaugural event was entitled the Texas Victory Open and it was staged at Lakewood Country Club, Dallas in September 1944. Appropriately enough, Byron Nelson won the contest in emphatic fashion with an aggregate score of 276, finishing ten strokes ahead of Jug McSpaden in second place. Incredibly, this was the seventh of eight professional victories he would enjoy that year.

The competition then underwent several name changes: it was the Dallas Open in 1945; the Dallas Invitational in 1946; the Dallas Centennial Open in 1956 after it had been in hibernation from 1947 to 1955; the Texas International Open when it was held again in 1956; the Dallas Open Invitational from 1957 to 1967 before it became the Byron Nelson Classic in 1968. Since then, the tournament has always had the name of the Texas-born 5-time Major champion in its title.

Sam Snead won the second edition of the competition at Dallas Country Club in 1945, with Jug McSpaden trailing 4 strokes off the pace in the runner-up position. Brook Hollow then hosted the third staging of the tournament 12 months later, when another famous golfing son of Texas, Ben Hogan, added the title to twelve others he won that year, including the PGA Championship at Portland, Oregon.

After a 10-year...

Byron Nelson host courses

Brook Hollow

7th Texas - Best in Area

Built on what was at that time open, rolling farmland, the lush acres of Brook Hollow Golf Club have unfortunately become surrounded by housing...


Average Reviewers Score:

Dallas Country Club

64th Texas - Best in Area

Established in 1896, Dallas Country Club engaged Tom Bendelow to lay out the original course for the membership in 1910. Much has changed since then, including a late 1990s upgrade by Jay Morrish.


Average Reviewers Score:

Lakewood Country Club

37th Texas - Best in Area

Lakewood Country Club was originally fashioned by Tom Bendelow in 1912 and so it remained until Texan Ralph Plummer redesigned the course in 1948. Ben Crenshaw and Bill Coore have since twice revitalized the layout.


Average Reviewers Score:

Preston Trail

8th Texas - Best in Area

The Byron Nelson Golf Classic was held at Preston Trail Golf Club between 1968 and 1982, before the PGA Tour moved it on to pastures new.


Average Reviewers Score:

TPC Las Colinas

39th Texas - Best in Area

Home to the Byron Nelson Championship on the PGA Tour, the TPC Four Seasons Las Colinas course was originally designed by Jay Morrish in 1982, with a helping hand from Byron Nelson and Ben Crenshaw.


Average Reviewers Score:

Byron Nelson Leaderboard

Rank Name Courses Played
1 Paul Rudovsky Courses Played 3
= Mark Kazlowski Courses Played 3
= Patrick Cline Courses Played 3
= S.T. Morrow Courses Played 3
= Matthew Ewing Courses Played 3
= Kenneth Durbin Courses Played 3
= Steve Starika Courses Played 3
= Oscar Regalado Courses Played 3
9 Mark Tylenda Courses Played 2
= AngelDevil666 Courses Played 2